Posted by: 1of10boyz | June 13, 2012

Mormon Moment


I interrupt the contrast series for another timely Mormon Moment. Thanks again to Rob for a well written piece, I am happy to share with my audience.

Mormonism: Really Want to Know?

During my senior year in high school, the U.S. Army made some significant efforts to recruit me.  I never understood their interest, as I was an avowed coward and about as physically imposing as a librarian.  I assumed that if Uncle Sam wanted me, the Cold War was a lost cause.  Still, I was tempted by some of their overtures, mostly because of the financial advantages it would give me for college.

I approached my mentor (the debate coach…seriously, I never was soldier material) and asked him what he thought about it.  He laughed at loud, and then told me I would have a one-word problem in the military.  I asked him what he meant.  He said that my problem was the word “why.” He predicted that the first time I was ordered to do some meaningless task, I would ask why, and I wouldn’t stop asking until they discharged or…

View original post 1,009 more words

Leave a Reply

Categories

