Posted by: 1of10boyz | October 8, 2012


I had a similar question asked of me not so long ago. Great explanation on something that the “Mormons” take for granted in many ways. Many of my friends have heard my stories about receiving and giving these blessings. Profound experiences for me.

Mormonism: Really Want to Know?

“Aren’t you a little young for that?”

The elderly man was looking across the bus aisle at the keys that my missionary companion had just handed back to me.

“Young for what?” I asked.  He pointed at the little silver vial hanging from my key chain.

“Nitroglycerin.”  He dug out his own keys and with a smile showed me a matching vial.  “I use it too.”

“Er, actually it’s olive oil,” I answered, and he looked perplexed.  “For priesthood blessings.”  That didn’t help.  Unfortunately, the bus ride ended up being shorter than the explanation, and I think the gentleman left the bus thinking that I was going too far out of my way to cover up a premature heart condition.

It is likely that anyone with LDS friends has heard them refer occasionally to “priesthood blessings,” and might even have been offered a priesthood blessing in times of illness.  What…

View original post 947 more words

Leave a Reply

Categories

