Posted by: 1of10boyz | October 16, 2012

Nesting Dolls


I have been fascinated by the nesting dolls, but that is not their official name. I borrow the following from Wiki:

A matryoshka doll (Russian: матрёшка; IPA: [mɐˈtrʲoʂkə] ( listen), matrëška), also known as Russian nesting/nested doll, refers to a set of wooden dolls of decreasing size placed one inside the other. They are sometimes incorrectly referred to as “babushka dolls”.

I got the opportunity over the summer to trade a few pearls from China with a high school friend that would be travelling to Russia and would be able to get me some dolls.

The picture below is what I got in return. I hope that my friend is as happy with the pearls as I am with the dolls.

The first 3 dolls are of the 15 Presidents of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (LDS or Mormons). The last or fourth is a typical doll. The LDS Missionaries that serve in Russia most frequently return home with the LDS dolls so I wanted a set because, well, I wanted them. The last doll is more of the typical and historical kind of doll.

I enjoy this doll, or at least one similar to it in the movie, The Man that Knew too Little.

Matryoshka Dolls

15 Presidents and the Maiden

Responses

  1. My wife has an amazing collection of Russian nesting dolls. The ones you have of the Mormon presidents would have required someone with special skills as a portrait artist. They look to be well done.

    • They are amazing and possibly addicting collectables. I am honored knowing that one of my favorite blogger/story-tellers stopped by my blog. Thanks for your comment.


Leave a Reply

Categories

