Posted by: 1of10boyz | November 25, 2012

Choices


I love to be able to choose. I enjoy making decisions great and small. I like to make those decisions for lots of reasons. Many of those reasons are very personal and are often learning experiences for me.

What I don’t like is the amount of research that I feel I have to do to make an informed decision. I feel like I often spend an inordinate amount of time researching and looking at related information. When I finally decide what to do I am relieved because the decision is made.

The problem with this quirk in my personality is that I try to do this to EVERY decision I make. It doesn’t matter how minor the decision it often gets the same analysis as the major decision.

In many ways I am a marketer’s dream because I make a decision based on so many parameters and conditions that I become a loyal and repeat customer of a brand. I like the perks that are offered by the chains and brands. I like being treated by them with a little more care than most people get from them. I like being pampered when I go back and do business with them.

The problem with liking to be treated a little bit better is that I am now spoiled.

I have spent a lot of time travelling in the last 8 years. My jobs have required that I spend a large amount of time away from where I want to live. I have found a few hotel brands that I really like but what I have found in my travels here in China is that most places that I want to go don’t have the brands that I like. I am now back to square one, I have to select a place to stay by doing research.

I HATE it. There are no really consistent brands to choose from so nearly every place I go I have to research everything. Now I don’t take the decision of where I sleep lightly, I know that how I sleep means the difference between enjoying the next day or not. But since nothing is consistent, everything has to be evaluated.

Price is not the only factor I use in evaluating hotels in this country, especially when staying outside of Beijing and Shanghai. Hotels in rural China are inexpensive. It is easy to find hotels with reasonable accommodations for less than $20 USD; I am talking 3 star hotels and that price often includes breakfast.

There are so many choices that it makes the task of analysis almost impossible. There are so many variables that the complexity is overwhelming. There just doesn’t seem to be a good or a bad choice.

I was reminded of this problem again today as I sat down and tried to make the final arrangements for our hotels this coming week. We are planning on going to Guilin and the UNESCO South China Karsts World Heritage sites. We are going in the off-season and we are told that it is going to be cold there. I take that advise with a grain of salt, it is of course just south of the 25th latitude (SV is just south of the 43rd latitude and the majority of the US Canada border is the 48th latitude). The cost of a 4-star hotel is going to be somewhere between $30-$40 USD and that is really a nice hotel when you get right down to it.

I am just going to have to be a little reckless and pick a hotel without a huge amount of analysis. That is not a comfortable situation that I have found myself in. I don’t like making decisions like this without a complete analysis. But I am sure that it will be alright.

I guess that I just have to remember to have the Administrative Assistant make these kinds of decisions. I have found that when she chooses the hotel that I am always happy with the results. Everyone that she has chosen thus far on my little adventure in China is one that I would go back to. Which reminds me, why am I making this decision in the first place? If somebody can do a better job of it than I can I should let them do it. Right? I mean I don’t expect to spend much time in the hotel anyway, the beauty of the location is what we are traveling to see; if it is clean and safe AND the bed is OK we should be happy.

Leave a Reply

Categories

