Posted by: 1of10boyz | January 23, 2013

Harbin, Heilongjiang, China


Harbin is cold in January. That works to its advantage when it sells itself as a party for Ice Sculptures and Snow Sculptures. It would be really bad to spend all of that time fixing those kinds of pretty things and then to have them melt.

Which reminds me, why would you have an ice sculpture at a wedding knowing that it would melt?

This location is well worth the visit if you are in China in January. I really enjoyed the craftsmanship that was evident in all of the sculptures. I grew up with snow in my life and lots of it. It was piled everywhere and the piles were high. The nice thing about that is that a kid could get his shovel and go around to the back of one of those piles and dig a hole and hollow out the pile into a little fort.

It was one of those little cool things that we did that I knew my cousins in Las Vegas would never experience. It was warmer inside the snow fort than it was outside, considerably warmer.

I never did get as artistic with snow as what we saw here in Harbin. It just wasn’t part of my skill set. I am only good for a snowman and he wasn’t very good either. We aren’t sure how many Chinese have ever made a snowman, our snowman is the only one that I have seen where we live.

Leave a Reply

Categories

