Posted by: 1of10boyz | June 13, 2013

What is Family Home Evening, and How Can You Stand It?


I think my family home evenings followed the same pattern. I think my kids would say we didn’t get them as often as I should have. I think we tried too hard and failed too often.

Mormonism: Really Want to Know?

My family joined the LDS Church when I was in second grade.  One of the practices of the Church that I noticed as being something new and different was “Family Home Evening.”  LDS families are encouraged to spend one night a week, typically Monday, in family-centered activities.  No Church meetings are held on Monday, and we are supposed to avoid splitting up the family members into other activities.  Part of the program is that families are encouraged to share a spiritual message, sing hymns, and engage in other wholesome activities.

Are you freaking kidding me?

My family wasn’t what you would call “communicative.”  Even in the days before cable, most of our discussion centered on what was on TV last night, what was going to be on tonight, and who had to watch the black and white set in the family room.  Now we were supposed to set in the…

View original post 696 more words

Leave a Reply

Categories

