Posted by: 1of10boyz | August 24, 2013

Post-Scholastic Stress Disorder


The worries of school. Not for me. Wait, isn’t that my Chinese tutor calling me asking about when he can come over?

Mostly Bright Ideas

BedIt’s the last week of August. This was just about when the nightmares would begin. Bolting awake, I would find myself gasping for air and drenched with sweat.

What day is this?

I’d be terrified that I’d slept right through the end of summer vacation, and that the return to school was a single sunrise away. Stumbling from my room, legs tangled in sheets, I’d shuffle down the stairs with my feet spread apart, careful to avoid the squeaky section in the middle. I’d sneak into the kitchen to check the calendar hanging on the side of the refrigerator.

The page hadn’t been changed to September. That meant we were still cocooned in the storage tank of lazy, undemanding freedom that in June had seemed so inexhaustible. We were down to the dregs, but at least we had that, and every drop – every moment – was now precious. Breathing…

View original post 923 more words

Leave a Reply

Categories

