Posted by: 1of10boyz | September 8, 2013

Hair


I am not a hairy man by any stretch of the imagination. That is my opinion anyway. I know that there are genetic reasons why some people have hair, sideburns, full beards, and hairy chests, others have receding hairlines, bald chests, and slick arms and legs.

The story I have heard that talked about hair verses no hair is from the Old Testament. You know the two brothers, Jacob and Esau. Jacob had deceived his father by putting goat skin on his hands and his neck so when his father touched him he would believe he was his hairy brother. This is what is recorded in the KJV of Genesis 27:

11 And Jacob said to Rebekah his mother, Behold, Esau my brother is a hairy man, and I am a smooth man:

 12 My father peradventure will feel me, and I shall seem to him as a deceiver; and I shall bring a curse upon me, and not a blessing.

 15And Rebekah took goodly raiment of her eldest son Esau, which were with her in the house, and put them upon Jacob her younger son:

 16 And she put the skins of the kids of the goats upon his hands, and upon the smooth of his neck:

The reason I think about this, there was something unusual happened to me.

I had a man walk up to me in town while I was shopping. It was hot and humid and I was just a little sweaty. It was so hot that even the Chinese were sweating. He reached out and rubbed my arm. Yes, rubbed my arm. Now this is not the first time it happened. I was sitting at a little league game in Arkansas when I had a little black boy come up and rub my arm. I had forgotten about that until it happened again.

It made me wonder how hairy Esau really was.

It isn‘t the hairiest arm you have every seen, unless you live in Africa or Asia.

It isn‘t the hairiest arm you have every seen, unless you live in Africa or Asia.

Responses

  1. I’ve had that over and over with my students, and I’m not exactly a wild beast either!

    • You would never have even thought about it if they hadn't rubbed your arm would you.


Leave a Reply

Categories

