Posted by: 1of10boyz | October 27, 2013

Dueling with Citizenship


I was always under the impression that if an American took citizenship from another country that they had to renounce their US citizenship. Just goes to show that the US should just annex them in as States, Pres Polk should have stuck to the campaign slogan 54.40 or Fight. The Queen would have likely given up on the Yukon and Great Northwest Territories in the late 1840s and let us have the whole western half of the country. Would have made it much easier for the current Canuks in French Canada win the fight for a national language of French. I think they would appreciate our generosity and willingness to help them in their cause.

Mostly Bright Ideas

US DebateI’m an American citizen, a privilege I acquired decades ago when I was born in the United States. This year, I became a Canadian citizen, too, after filling out a long application, providing additional paperwork to prove that I exist, and paying a fee of several hundred dollars. I also swore my allegiance to the British monarchy – in both English and French – a requirement that I fulfilled with some degree of bewilderment.

As a result, I am now a dual citizen. In other words, when someone asks if I’m an American, I can answer, “Yes.” When someone else asks if I’m a Canadian, I can answer, “Yes.” It’s a little like being a switch-hitter in baseball, or having type-O blood, or wearing a reversible shirt. Depending on your personality, it can either double the satisfaction of being connected to a nation, or it can magnify the feeling…

View original post 696 more words

Leave a Reply

Categories

