Posted by: 1of10boyz | December 2, 2013

Sweet Potatoes


A sweet potato.

This is typical

This is typical

Never really thought much about them as a kid. Didn’t really care too much for them. Sure I was served them but I don’t think I really ate them.

Remember them served like this most often

Remember them served like this most often

I made a trip to “the south” a few years ago. I learned that you can make a pie out of the sweet potato. Now we are getting to a sweet potato that deserves a place on my table.

That looks tasty

That looks tasty

Since being in China I have realized that it gets eaten in lots of different ways. Most of those ways are not right in my opinion. The first one starts from the sliced wedges of the potato.

ready to go

ready to go

The first way that I discovered sweet potatoes in China was the dried version. My driver brought me a bag of them, probably a kilo. Way too much but they are edible. Just wouldn’t go looking for them as a meal. These little morsels are “peasant” food. These are the food that you eat when you are poor and you can’t afford real sweets.  We have gotten a couple of different styles but the all end up tasting the same. I saw on the internet that these are often considered to be a great treat for dogs. Don’t know if the dog will like it but I bet he will.

dried wedges

dried wedges

But for as many sweet potatoes in China that get dried and eaten the real Chinese way to eat a sweet potato is from the street vendor. We have never gone to a city, anywhere in China, that doesn’t have a sweet potato street vendor. Here is what that looks like.

Love how he has a cover for the arm that goes into the "oven"

Love how he has a cover for the arm that goes into the “oven”

Working the home office, away from home.

Working the home office, away from home.

The original "home office".

The original “home office”.

I admit that I buy the occasional street sweet potato. I like them at this time of year, for one, they are perfect for keeping my hands warm. Two, you get to throw away about half of it before you eat it because the first 1/2″ is pretty much toasted and too dry to eat.

So my two favorite sweet potatoes are the fries and the ones I get during my Thanksgiving meal.

twice cooked  with a topping

twice cooked with a topping

these are one of my favs

these are one of my favs

I admit that I enjoy a sweet potato much more than I used to. I really like the sweet potato fries that I get at Texas Roadhouse and I like the ones that I get at Thanksgiving.

What I realized the other day while I was eating turkey with my friends here in China is that they don’t know about all of those other sweet potato dishes. They did tell me that they really like the Thanksgiving dish and they said it didn’t taste like the sweet potatoes they normally eat. I am happy to admit, dang right, those sweet potatoes don’t taste the same, but that isn’t a bad thing.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

